RMYS Home of the Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta

The Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron, with a history of 140 years, is one of the oldest yacht clubs in Victoria with a long list of historical firsts. Situated at St Kilda in close proximity to the Melbourne central business district, it is regarded as the centre of aquatic events in Victoria.
The St Kilda Sailing Club, formed in 1876, changed its name to St Kilda Yacht Club in 1884 and gained the ‘Royal’ prefix in 1924. The final name change to the Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron occurred in 1961 when amalgamating with the St Kilda 14 Foot Sailing Club.

Most major championships have been held off its shores and the Squadron was the control centre for the 1956 Melbourne Olympic yachting events, as well as the 1999 Laser World Championship. The prestigious ISAF Sailing World Cup – Melbourne event was held at RMYS for the first time in 2015.


The Australian Women’s Keelboat Regatta has been run at RMYS for since 1990 and is a pioneering event for women’s sailing in Australia and indeed the world. The Squadron also hosts the Jennifer Goldsmith Trophy for female skippers each year, as part of the Port Phillip Women’s Championship Series.

The Squadron has 250 berths accommodating vessels up to 23 metres. All berths are serviced with power, water, security, lighting and CCTV. There are also 115 swing moorings located in close proximity to the Squadron and serviced by tender.


RMYS conducts club racing year-round on Wednesdays and Saturdays. Royal Melbourne Sail Training Academy offers keelboat and dinghy training for children and adults, and also provides courses in powerboat handling, radio operation, first aid, coastal navigation and more. There are regular cruising events to various points around Port Phillip.


The clubhouse facilities are stunning, with beautiful sunset views from the Olympic Bar and Harbour Room, as well as a superb rooftop area.